Ubuntu 10.10 Checking battery state…

A few days ago I had to reinstall by ubuntu on my T-400. After the re installation, it required me to upgrade my video driver using a proprietary software. After I restarted my computer, the machine gets stuck at the boot stage, displaying the message “Checking battery state….”

I attempted at searching on Google for ways to remedy this my problem, but no luck. I was frustrated and figured that I might be able to figure something out if I had a terminal. I went to tty1 by pressing ctrl + alt + F1, I then removed my graphics configuration by issuing the following command
sudo rm /etc/X11/xorg.conf
I then issued a reboot
sudo reboot
and everything was fine and I could login into my machine normally.

  1. #1 by Christian on April 11, 2011 - 10:50 am

    Hej,
    thanks a lot for your help. I have the same laptop and had the same problem as you. Now I can boot again. But I wonder what a strange driver update this is that it causes such problems.

    Christian

  2. #2 by CM on April 21, 2011 - 2:14 pm

    How can you get a terminal if you are stuck in the boot process? I’m sitting here with the Checking battery start on my screen now and I can’t drop into a terminal at all.

    • #3 by jekjek1989 on April 21, 2011 - 2:41 pm

      pressing Ctrl + Alt + F1 should allow you to drop into the terminal. Sorry about my missing F.

Leave a Reply

